Accra – Tuesday 5th December, 2017: His Excellency the Vice President of the Republic of Ghana, Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia inaugurated and sworn in the 15-Member the Local Government Service Council appointed by the President of the Republic. The inauguration took place at the Conference room of the Vice President’s Office at the Flagstaff House.

On behalf of the President, His Excellency the Vice President, congratulated the Chairman and the Council Members on their appointment and wished them a successful term. He charged the Council to provide the President with good and honest advice on administrative decentralisation and urged them to be optimistic in the face of challenges. He said in this way, the Council will be able to provide support for the overall policy direction of the Service.

The Council Chairman, Nana Rex Owusu Ansah on behalf of Council Members accepted the opportunity to serve on the Local Government Service Council. On behalf of the members, he pledged their commitment to harness energies and experiences to secure and fast track the effective local government administration.

Other members of the Council includes Dr. Nana Ato Arthur, Head of the Local Government Service; Dr. Esther Oduraa Ofei-Aboagye and Rev. Mrs Sanatu Nantogma, nominees of the President; Mr. Kwame Asiamah, representative of NDPC; Hon. Irene Naa Torshie Addo, Administrator of the District Assemblies Common Fund; Dr. Dadson Awunyo-Vitor, Director of the Institute of Local Government Studies; Ms. Dorothy Akosua Onny, representative of the Ministry of Local Government & Rural Development; Mr. Isaac Nsarko Biney, representative of the Ministry of Education; and Dr. John Koku Awoonor-Williams, representative of Ministry of Health. The rest are Hon. Felix Mensah Nii Anang-La of the National Association of Local Authorities; Ghana; Mr Abdul-Naaleem Amadu, representative of Local Government Workers; Nana Soglo Alloh IV of the National House of Chiefs; Hon. Gladys Gillian Naadu Tetteh and Mr Saaka Sayuti representatives of the Civil Society Organisations.

Present at the inauguration were the Chief Director, Directors and other officers of the Office of the Head of Local Government Service.

Posted in News.