ACCRA – Thursday March 15, 2018: The Head of the Local Government Service, Ing. Dr. Nana Ato Arthur has attended the inaugural ceremony of the Ga South Municipal Assembly at the forecourt of the West Hills Mall in Weija as part of a nation-wide ceremony to operationalize thirty-eight (38) newly created District Assemblies.

Dr. Arthur expressed appreciation to the President for the 38 new Assemblies and indicated that, key staff have been deployed by the Office of the Head of the Local Government Service (OHLGS) to these new Assemblies for work to begin with immediate effect. He said the human resource needs of the new Assemblies will be addressed with a sense of urgency to facilitate execution of their mandates. The Head of Service said Performance Contracts will be signed between Chief Executives and their Coordinating Directors and mentioned the following innovations (Sanitation & Innovation, ICT & Innovation, Workplace environment & Innovation and Local Economic Development & Innovation) as additions to the key performance areas of the contract. He urged residents of the municipality to pay their rates to enable performance of the Assembly.

The Deputy Minister for Health and Member of Parliament (MP) for Weija-Gbawe, Hon. Tina Mensah said, District Assemblies are the highest political authority at the local level; and the creation of the new Assemblies will bring governance closer to the citizenry; and deepen decentralisation through grassroot participation, better planning and improved service delivery. She added that Assemblies are essential in ensuring balanced and equitable development at the local level and declared the Assembly duly inaugurated.

Present at the function were the MP for Bortianor-Ngleshie-Amanfro, Hon. Alhaji Habib Saad; the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Joseph Stephen Nyarni; the Presiding Member, Hon. Patrick Baidoo; the Municipal Coordinating Director, Mr Emmauel Baisey; Assembly Members, Chiefs, Religious Leaders and staff of Ga South Municipal Assembly.

Posted in News.